top of page
  • Phie

5 key investments for a successful home salon

by Annie May Byrne Noonan | Sep 1, 2023 | Business, Self Employment| Creative Head Magazine


Phie Kirk, of Phie's Salon in

Cambridge shares her five tips to create a successful home salon, wherever you are based.

The fun-filled days of summer are almost gone, and autumn is on the horizon. The final quarter of the year, it's a time for business owners to think about what is needed to make the last lap the most successful possible. For some stylists, a home salon could be on the cards. Here are five simple steps to get you started, courtesy of Phie Kirk, of Phie's Salon in Cambridge.


Pop-up foils or a foil machine

I use StyleTek pop up foils in teal or pink. I get the foils from Rebel Beauty Brands, and they are the best foils l've used. The texture is very good, and the pop up is easy to grab and go. When the box is getting low, I turn them upside down and pop down the flaps at the back to move the tray up so you can still grab the foils. I went through many years of using the 24*7 foil dispenser and it's such a time saver! You can adjust the foil length and fold. Clients are very impressed and intrigued with it!


Eye Vac Home touch-less vacuum

This is the best and most impressive gadget I have! It saves me bending down and scooping up the hair - we stylists have to look after our backs! It automatically senses the hair and sucks it up. Clients often want one for themselves and are very impressed! I encourage you to empty the hair into your garden, so the birds can use it for nesting or you can put it around your plants, so the slugs don't get them.


Insurance!

Get yourself insurance but one with a community. Being self-employed can be very lonely, and that's why I'm with the Freelance Hairdressers Association. I'm pleased I signed up with the FHA the community as it is so welcoming, they have a Facebook group where everyone keeps up to date, they have separate groups for your specific location too. You also get discounts on products and education. The FHA even host their own events and awards! The actual insurance is brilliant and puts my mind at ease. Don't forget to mention my name when you sign up! Phie Kirk from Phie's Salon.


Booking system

Get yourself an online booking system. I am with a Fresha and have used it for a very long time for free, and now I pay for all the features. My business has got to the point where it runs itself and my clients book themselves in. It saves so much time. There's no more back and forth booking clients whist you're eating your tea! I encourage you to work up towards this. I have asked Fresha to turn off some of the features so I can have more control over who books in. You can also have an online store and stock check.

You can use my referral link and get £100 credit when you have processed your first thousand pounds.


A salon chair

Invest in a good salon chair that pumps up and down. It's not only professional looking, but it will look after your back and should last years! If you're on a tight budget check Facebook marketplace.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page